Free practice
Disability income and accidental death and dismemberment policies
Finish →Question 1 of 40
Which statement best describes what a disability income policy pays?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: It pays a periodic cash benefit to the insured, replacing part of earned income while sickness or injury prevents work.
Disability income insurance is loss-of-time coverage. It does not reimburse medical bills; it pays a periodic benefit directly to the insured to replace a portion of pre-disability earned income for as long as the disability continues and the benefit period lasts.
Question 2 of 40
An insured's individual disability income policy has a 90-day elimination period and pays monthly benefits. The insured becomes totally disabled on January 1 and remains disabled. Which statement correctly describes how payment works?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: No benefit accrues during the first 90 days; benefits begin to accrue after that period and the first check arrives at the end of the first benefit month, roughly four months after the disability began.
The elimination period is a stated number of days of continuous disability that must pass before benefits begin to accrue. Benefits are typically paid at the end of each benefit interval rather than in advance, so with a 90-day elimination period and monthly payments the first check arrives about four months after disability begins.
Question 3 of 40
Under an accidental death and dismemberment policy, the term "capital sum" refers to:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: A stated percentage of the principal sum, less than the full amount, paid for a single severe loss such as one hand, one foot, or sight in one eye.
In AD and D coverage the principal sum is the full face amount, paid for accidental death. The capital sum is a stated lesser percentage of the principal sum, paid under the schedule of losses for a single severe loss such as loss of one hand, one foot, or sight in one eye. Multiple severe losses commonly pay the full principal sum.
Question 4 of 40
An insured collected disability income benefits for five months, recovered, and returned to full-time work. Six weeks later the same condition flared up and disabled her again. Her policy contains a recurrent disability provision with a six-month period. What is the likely result?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: The relapse is treated as a continuation of the prior claim, so no new elimination period applies and benefits resume.
A recurrent disability provision states that if the insured becomes disabled again from the same cause within a stated period after returning to work, the new period of disability is treated as a continuation of the prior claim. Because it is the same claim, no new elimination period is imposed and benefits resume under the original benefit period.
Question 5 of 40
A disability income policyholder suffers an accident that causes total and permanent loss of sight in both eyes, yet he could still perform some sedentary work. His policy's presumptive disability provision means that:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Full disability benefits are payable without his having to satisfy the policy's usual definition of disability.
Presumptive disability provisions pay full benefits upon specified severe losses, such as loss of sight, hearing, speech, or the use of limbs, without requiring the insured to meet the policy's ordinary test of disability. Loss of sight in both eyes is a classic presumptive loss, so the fact that he could perform sedentary work does not reduce or bar the benefit.
Question 6 of 40
A surgeon can no longer perform operations because of a hand tremor, but she is fully able to teach anatomy at a medical school. How will the definition of disability in her policy most likely affect her claim?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: An own-occupation definition would pay because she cannot perform the duties of her own job, while a strict any-occupation definition likely would not, because she is suited for other gainful work.
Own occupation pays when the insured cannot perform the duties of her own job, so the surgeon qualifies even though she can teach. Any occupation is stricter: it pays only if the insured cannot work in any gainful occupation for which she is reasonably suited, and teaching anatomy is such an occupation. Many policies use own occupation for an initial period and then switch to the stricter test.
Question 7 of 40
Why do disability income insurers limit the monthly benefit to a percentage of the insured's pre-disability earnings rather than replacing the full amount?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Paying less than full earnings preserves the insured's financial incentive to recover and return to work.
Benefit amounts are set as a percentage of pre-disability earnings so that the insured is always financially better off working than remaining on claim. Insurers reinforce this with issue and participation limits and by coordinating with other income sources such as group coverage or other disability benefits.
Question 8 of 40
How are individual disability income and accidental death and dismemberment policies classified and regulated in Texas?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: They are accident and health contracts under Title 8 of the Insurance Code, with individual policy forms and required provisions governed by Chapter 1201.
Both disability income and AD and D are accident and health coverages. In Texas they fall under Title 8 of the Insurance Code, which addresses health insurance and other health coverages, and individual accident and health policy forms and their required provisions are governed by Chapter 1201 (Tex. Ins. Code Title 8; Tex. Ins. Code ch. 1201).
Question 9 of 40
A disability income policy provision that pays the full monthly benefit without requiring the insured to meet the policy's usual test of disability, upon a total loss such as sight, hearing, speech, or the use of two limbs, is called:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Presumptive disability
Presumptive disability treats certain severe, specified losses — sight, hearing, speech, or use of limbs — as conclusive proof of total disability, so full benefits are payable without the insured having to satisfy the contract's ordinary definition of disability.
Question 10 of 40
An applicant for individual disability income coverage says the quoted premium is higher than he can afford but he wants to keep the same monthly benefit amount and the same long benefit period. Which change would most directly reduce the premium?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Lengthen the elimination period
The elimination period is the number of days of continuous disability that must pass before benefits begin to accrue. Lengthening it shifts more of the early, most frequent short claims to the insured, so the premium drops — without changing the benefit amount or benefit period.
Question 11 of 40
An accidental death and dismemberment policy has a face amount of $100,000. The insured loses the sight of one eye in a covered accident, and the schedule of losses provides 50 percent for that loss. The $50,000 paid is best described as the:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Capital sum
In AD&D coverage the full face amount is the principal sum, payable for accidental death. A capital sum is a stated lesser percentage of the principal sum, paid for a single severe loss such as one hand, one foot, or the sight of one eye — exactly what the schedule of losses provides here.
Question 12 of 40
An insured collected disability income benefits for four months, returned to full-time work, and then became disabled again from the same cause a few weeks later. The policy's recurrent disability provision means that:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: The relapse is treated as a continuation of the earlier claim, so no new elimination period applies
A recurrent disability provision states that if the insured relapses within a stated period after returning to work, the new period of disability is treated as a continuation of the prior claim. Because it is the same claim, no new elimination period must be satisfied and benefits resume immediately.
Question 13 of 40
Disability income policies typically limit the monthly benefit to a percentage of the insured's pre-disability earnings rather than replacing all of them. The main reason is to:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Preserve the insured's financial incentive to return to work
Benefit amounts are set at a percentage of pre-disability earnings so that being disabled is never more profitable than working; the insured keeps a financial incentive to recover and return to work. Insurers reinforce this with issue and participation limits and by coordinating with other income sources.
Question 14 of 40
A surgeon insured under a disability income policy develops a hand tremor. She can no longer operate, but she is fully able to teach and consult in medicine at a good salary. How does the definition of disability affect her claim?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Benefits are payable under an own-occupation definition, but likely not under an any-occupation definition, because she can work in a gainful occupation for which she is suited
An own-occupation definition pays when the insured cannot perform the duties of her own job — surgery — so she qualifies. An any-occupation definition is stricter and pays only if she cannot work in any gainful occupation for which she is reasonably suited; teaching and consulting in medicine fits her training, so that stricter test would not be met.
Question 15 of 40
Which of the following claims would an accidental death and dismemberment policy normally NOT pay?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Death from a heart attack caused by advanced heart disease
AD&D is accident-only, limited-benefit coverage: the loss must result from accidental bodily injury and occur within the time period the policy states after the accident. Death from disease is a sickness loss and is typically excluded, along with self-inflicted injury and war. The other three losses are accidental and appear on the schedule of losses.
Question 16 of 40
In Texas, individual accident and health policy forms and their required provisions — including individual disability income and accidental death and dismemberment policies — are governed by which chapter of the Insurance Code?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Chapter 1201
Both disability income and AD&D coverages are accident and health contracts under Title 8 of the Texas Insurance Code, and individual policy forms and required provisions are governed by Chapter 1201, Accident and Health Insurance (Tex. Ins. Code ch. 1201; Tex. Ins. Code Title 8).
Question 17 of 40
A surgeon insured under a disability income policy develops a hand tremor. She can no longer perform surgery, but she could earn a living as a medical consultant. Under which definition of disability is she most likely to collect full benefits?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: An own-occupation definition
An own-occupation definition pays when the insured cannot perform the duties of her own job, even if she is able to work in some other suitable occupation. Because the surgeon cannot operate, she qualifies as totally disabled under that definition despite being employable as a consultant.
Question 18 of 40
In a disability income policy, the elimination period is best described as:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: A stated number of days of continuous disability that must pass before benefits begin to accrue
The elimination, or waiting, period is a stated number of days of continuous disability that must elapse before benefits begin to accrue. Lengthening it lowers the premium, and benefits are typically paid at the end of each benefit interval rather than in advance.
Question 19 of 40
Under an accidental death and dismemberment policy, the capital sum is:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: A stated percentage of the principal sum paid for a single severe loss, such as one hand, one foot, or sight in one eye
The principal sum is the full face amount, paid for accidental death. The capital sum is a stated lesser percentage of the principal sum, paid for a single severe loss such as one hand, one foot, or sight in one eye. The schedule of losses lists each covered loss and its percentage.
Question 20 of 40
An insured collects disability income benefits for four months, returns to full-time work, and then suffers a relapse of the same condition three weeks later. The policy contains a recurrent disability provision. What is the result?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: The relapse is treated as a continuation of the earlier claim, so no new elimination period applies
A recurrent disability provision treats a relapse from the same cause within a stated period as a continuation of the prior claim. Benefits resume without a new elimination period, and the disability continues under the original benefit period.
Question 21 of 40
An insured under a disability income policy loses the sight of both eyes in an accident but is still physically able to do some sedentary work. Which provision most likely governs the claim?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Full benefits are payable under the presumptive disability provision without meeting the usual disability test
A presumptive disability provision pays full benefits, without applying the usual definition of disability, upon severe losses such as sight, hearing, speech, or the use of limbs. Loss of sight in both eyes is a classic presumptive loss, so full benefits are payable even though the insured retains some work capacity.
Question 22 of 40
Which statement correctly distinguishes disability income insurance from accidental death and dismemberment insurance?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Disability income pays a periodic benefit while the insured remains disabled, and AD&D pays a lump sum for a loss listed in its schedule caused by accident
Disability income is loss-of-time coverage that pays a periodic cash benefit while sickness or injury keeps the insured from working. AD&D is accident-only, limited-benefit coverage that pays a lump sum for a loss appearing in its schedule of losses. Neither reimburses medical expenses.
Question 23 of 40
How are individual disability income and AD&D policies treated under Texas law?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: They are accident and health contracts under Title 8, with individual policy forms and required provisions governed by Chapter 1201
In Texas both disability income and AD&D are accident and health contracts under Title 8 of the Insurance Code, and individual policy forms and their required provisions are governed by Chapter 1201.
Question 24 of 40
Disability income benefits are normally set at a percentage of pre-disability earnings rather than at one hundred percent. The primary reason is that:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Partial replacement preserves the insured's financial incentive to return to work
Insurers limit the benefit to a percentage of pre-disability earnings so that the insured is financially better off working than remaining on claim. Issue and participation limits and coordination with other income sources serve the same purpose.
Question 25 of 40
An insured with an accidental death and dismemberment policy loses the sight of one eye in a covered accident. Under the policy's schedule of losses, what amount is generally payable for that single loss?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: The capital sum — a stated percentage of the principal sum that is less than 100%
In AD&D coverage the principal sum is the full face amount payable for accidental death. A single severe loss — one hand, one foot, or the sight of one eye — pays the capital sum, a stated lesser percentage of the principal sum, as listed in the schedule of losses. Multiple severe losses commonly pay the full principal sum.
Question 26 of 40
A disability income policy will pay benefits only if the insured is unable to engage in any gainful occupation for which he is reasonably suited by education, training, and experience. This describes which definition of disability?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Any-occupation definition
The any-occupation test is the stricter standard: benefits are payable only if the insured cannot work in any gainful occupation for which he or she is reasonably suited. Own-occupation is more liberal, and loss-of-income definitions measure the drop in earnings instead.
Question 27 of 40
An insured becomes totally disabled on January 1. The disability income policy has a 30-day elimination period and pays a monthly benefit. When should the insured expect the first benefit payment?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: About 60 days after the disability began, because benefits start accruing after the 30-day wait and are paid at the end of each benefit month
The elimination period is a stated number of days of continuous disability that must pass before benefits begin to accrue — here 30 days. Because disability income benefits are typically paid at the end of each benefit interval rather than in advance, the first monthly check arrives roughly a month after the elimination period ends, or about 60 days after disability began.
Question 28 of 40
An insured collected disability income benefits for four months, returned to full-time work, and then suffered a relapse of the same condition six weeks later. Under a recurrent disability provision, how is the second period of disability treated?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: As a continuation of the prior claim, so no new elimination period applies
A recurrent disability provision states that a relapse from the same cause within a stated period after returning to work is treated as a continuation of the earlier claim. Benefits resume without a new elimination period, and the payments count against the same benefit period.
Question 29 of 40
A disability income insured suffers the total and permanent loss of speech and hearing in an accident. The insurer begins paying the full monthly benefit even though the usual test of total disability was not separately established. Which provision produced this result?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Presumptive disability provision
Presumptive disability pays full benefits upon severe specified losses — such as sight, hearing, speech, or use of limbs — without requiring the insured to satisfy the policy's ordinary definition of disability. The loss itself is presumed to be totally disabling.
Question 30 of 40
Disability income policies typically limit the monthly benefit to a percentage of pre-disability earnings rather than 100% of income. What is the primary reason for this design?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: To preserve the insured's financial incentive to recover and return to work
Benefits are set at a percentage of pre-disability earnings so that the insured is not financially better off while disabled — the gap preserves an incentive to return to work. Insurers reinforce this with issue and participation limits and by coordinating with other income sources.
Question 31 of 40
Which statement correctly describes accidental death and dismemberment coverage?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: It is accident-only, limited-benefit coverage and pays nothing for losses caused by sickness
AD&D is accident-only, limited-benefit coverage. The loss must result from accidental bodily injury and must occur within the time period stated in the policy after the accident. Sickness, self-inflicted injury, and war are typically excluded, and AD&D is not a substitute for medical expense or disability income coverage.
Question 32 of 40
How are individual disability income and AD&D policies classified and regulated in Texas?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Both are accident and health contracts under Title 8, with individual policy forms and required provisions governed by Chapter 1201
In Texas both disability income and AD&D are accident and health contracts under Title 8 of the Insurance Code, and individual policy forms and required provisions are governed by Chapter 1201 (Tex. Ins. Code Title 8; Tex. Ins. Code ch. 1201). Paying cash to the insured rather than to a provider does not change the line of authority.
Question 33 of 40
An individual disability income policy limits the monthly benefit to 60 percent of the insured's pre-disability earned income rather than 100 percent. What is the primary underwriting reason for this design?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: It preserves a financial incentive for the insured to recover and return to work
Disability income insurance replaces a portion of earned income, not all of it. Paying a percentage of pre-disability earnings keeps the insured better off working than remaining on claim, which is why insurers also apply issue and participation limits and coordinate with other income sources.
Question 34 of 40
A disability income policy has a 90-day elimination period, a monthly benefit, and a five-year benefit period. The insured becomes totally disabled on March 1 and remains disabled. How does the elimination period operate?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: No benefit accrues for the first 90 days of continuous disability, and the first payment is made at the end of the first benefit interval after that period
The elimination period is a stated number of days of continuous disability that must pass before benefits begin to accrue. Nothing accrues during those 90 days, and because disability benefits are paid at the end of each benefit interval, the insured receives the first payment after completing the first month of covered disability following the elimination period.
Question 35 of 40
An insured with a disability income policy suffers a covered accident and permanently loses sight in both eyes. The policy pays full monthly benefits even though the insured could still perform some gainful work. Which provision produced this result?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Presumptive disability provision
Presumptive disability pays full benefits without requiring the insured to meet the policy's usual definition of disability when a specified severe loss occurs, such as loss of sight, hearing, speech, or the use of limbs. The insured is presumed totally disabled.
Question 36 of 40
An AD&D policy has a face amount of $200,000. The insured loses one hand in a covered accident and the schedule of losses pays 50 percent for that loss. The $100,000 paid is best described as:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: The capital sum
In AD&D coverage the full face amount is the principal sum, payable for accidental death. A capital sum is a stated lesser percentage of the principal sum paid for a single severe loss such as one hand, one foot, or sight in one eye, exactly as the schedule of losses provides here.
Question 37 of 40
An insured collected disability benefits for four months, returned to full-time work, and then became disabled again from the same cause three weeks later. The policy's recurrent disability provision applies. What is the effect?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: The second period is treated as a continuation of the prior claim, so no new elimination period applies
A recurrent disability provision treats a relapse from the same cause within a stated period as a continuation of the original claim. Because it is the same claim, the insured does not satisfy a second elimination period and the benefit resumes under the original benefit period.
Question 38 of 40
A surgeon develops a hand tremor and can no longer operate. She accepts a medical school teaching position at the same salary she earned before. Under which definition of disability would she most clearly qualify for benefits?
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Own occupation
An own-occupation definition pays if the insured cannot perform the duties of her own job, even if she works in another field. She cannot operate, so she is disabled under that test. An any-occupation definition would deny the claim because she is gainfully employed, and a loss-of-income definition would pay nothing because her earnings did not drop.
Question 39 of 40
After a covered disability, an insured returns to her job part time and earns 55 percent of her former income. Her policy pays a reduced monthly benefit reflecting that lost earnings. This benefit is called:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: A residual, or partial, disability benefit
A residual or partial disability benefit pays a reduced amount when the insured returns to work but at lower earnings, bridging part of the gap between pre-disability and current income.
Question 40 of 40
In Texas, the policy form and required provisions of an individual accident and health contract, such as an individual disability income or AD&D policy, are governed primarily by:
Reveal answer
Correct answer: Chapter 1201 of the Texas Insurance Code, within Title 8 on health insurance and other health coverages
Disability income and AD&D policies are accident and health contracts under Title 8 of the Texas Insurance Code, and individual policy forms and their required provisions are governed by Chapter 1201.
Ready when you are
This free set is 40 questions from one objective. A plan opens 3720 questions across the whole Texas exam, plus mock exams, spoken rationales, and audio you can study while driving.